a big thanks to all that came out!
a big thanks to our judges

Nicholas F. Polys is Director of Visual Computing with Virginia Tech Research Computing Group and Affiliate Research Professor in the Department of Computer Science. He has developed interactive 3D graphic content and systems for over 15 years.

He is a member of ACM, IEEE Computer Society, and the Web3D Consortium. He is a co-author of the international standard (ISO) Extensible 3D (X3D), elected Director and President of the Web3D Consortium, and Chair of the Web3D User Interface Working Group.

Avi Bar-Zeev has spent the last 20+ years building real-time simulation, human-computer-interaction and internet scale applications on projects as diverse as load-balancing routers, robotic parachutes, and natural user interfaces.

He co-founded Keyhole, Inc. in 1999, designing and building the application that was later called Google Earth, was at Linden Lab developing core technologies for Second Life, and is currently at Amazon, working on Prime Air, building a stellar team in SF to help make aerial drone delivery common.

Tony Parisi is an entrepreneur and career CTO/software architect. He has developed international standards and protocols, created noteworthy software products, and started and sold technology companies.

He is the co-creator of the VRML and X3D ISO standards for networked 3D graphics, and continues to innovate in 3D technology. Tony is the founder of Vizi, a San Francisco-based interactive agency developing 3D applications for web, mobile and the new generation of virtual reality systems.


Jim Bloedau has been part of pioneering digital health projects that include the first digital online patient monitoring systems, cloud-based practice management and the first IP-based HIE projects during his clinical and business healthcare experience.

He has consulted to over twenty-one healthcare startups and produced over forty-five market analysis for the provider and consumer sectors. Jim’s current emphasis continues his early interests in secure communications combined with care management and using it to facilitate better care within the hospital and extending that to the ambulatory arena and home.

Nancy Hall has been a long-time member of local and national HIMSS and currently serves as the Programs co-chair for the Northern California Chapter. Board interests and goals include health information technology advocacy, EHR/PHR, and helping to expand the participation of the physician and clinical community in HIMSS programs.

She has over 20 years of Healthcare Information Technology experience, and his currently the Chief Information Officer at MedAmerica/CEP America, the third largest Emergency Physician Medical Group in the country.

Parvati Dev, PhD, is President of Innovation in Learning Inc., and co-creator of CliniSpace, IIL’s award-winning virtual medical environment for healthcare training. She has extensive academic and corporate experience in developing technology solutions applied to life sciences learning and research problems.

While at CEMAX Inc., she developed the first commercially available 3D reconstructive imaging system for surgical planning and radiologic imaging. At Innovation in Learning, she and her team are creating the next generation of immersive simulation environments for healthcare.

Hack Challenge Categories & Winners

A big thanks to our 24 participating teams. It was hard for the judges as all the entries were awesome. Here are the hack category winners!

Best Web-based VR Project

1st place: Team Med Explorer
2nd place: Team VLSC
3rd place: Team STOQs

Best Mobile-based VR Project

1st place: Team VR Awesome
2nd place: Team VR Muffin

Best Digital Fabrication VR Project

1st place: Team Mood Engine
2nd place: Team LM

Best Looking VR Scene

1st place: Team Rayrunner

Best Health & VR Project

1st place: Team Skywalker
2nd place: Team Hand Tremors
3rd place: Team Ebola

Best Character Experience

1st place: Team Don't Lie to Me

Best Unity3D VR Project

1st place: Team 1-800-Reactive

Best Mixed Reality Gaming Project

1st place: Team Build It Mondo Style

Best VR Project of Show

1st place: Team 1-800-Reactive

Best New VR Developer

1st place: Team Bloodm00n
thank you vr hackathon organizers
Thank you Mike Aratow, Elizabeth Ruscitto, Damon Hernandez, Eriks Strals, Edwin Abarca, Anthony Lerma, Cade Peterson, Anita Havele, Syed Khan, Jason Ochoa, the Gray Area team, and all others that helped organized this wonderful event.
A Big Thanks To Our Amazing Sponsors
Community Supporters
the biggest thanks to our wonderful vr community
see you next time!